top of page
  • Writer's pictureSwati Bhat

68th National Film Awards 2022 winners

Union Minister of Information and Broadcasting, Anurag Thakur announced the award winners.

Swati Bhat

The winners of the 68th National Film Awards were announced in New Delhi. This year’s awards ceremony honoured films from 2020 as well due to COVID-19-related delays. The event is organised by the Directorate of Film Festivals, which comes under the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. Union Minister of Information and Broadcasting, Anurag Thakur announced the award winners. Soorarai Pottru won three of the four biggest awards of the night, while Tanhaji The Unsung Warrior also took home major trophies.

Winners of 68th National Film Awards 2022:

  • Best Feature Film: Soorarai Pottru

  • Best Director: Sachidanandan KR, Ayyappanum Koshiyum

  • Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Tanhaji

  • Best Actor: Suriya for Soorarai Pottru and Ajay Devgn for Tanhaji

  • Best Actress: Aparna Balamurali, Soorarai Pottru

  • Best Supporting Actor: Biju Menon, Ayyappanum Koshiyam

  • Best Supporting Actress: Lakshmi Priya Chandramouli, Sivaranjaniyum Innam Sila Pengallum

  • Best Action Direction Award: AK Ayyappanum Koshiyum

  • Best Choreography: Natyam (Telugu)

  • Best Lyrics: Manoj Muntashir for Saina (Hindi)

  • Best Male Playback Singer: Rahul Deshpande for Mi Vasantrao and Anish Mangesh Gosavi for Taktak

  • Best Female Playback Singer: Nanchamma, Ayyappanum Koshiyam

  • Best Music Direction: Ala Vaikunthapurramuloo, S Thaman

  • Best film on Social Issues: ‘Justice Delayed but Delivered & Three Sisters

  • Best Choreography: Natyam

  • Best Cinematography: Avijatrik

  • Best Audiography: Dollu, Mi Vasantrao, and Malik

  • Best Costume Design: Tanhaji

  • Best Production Design: Kappela

  • Best Editing: Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum

  • Best Make-up: Natyam

  • Best Screenplay: Soorarai Pottru, Sudha Kongara, and Mandela, Madonne Ashwin

  • Best Stunt Choreography: Ayyappanum Koshiyum

Special Jury Award:

  • Best Feature Film in Hindi: Toolsidas Junior

  • Best Feature Film in Kannada: Dollu

  • Best Feature Film in Malayalam: Thinkalazhcha Nishchayam

  • Best Feature Film in Tamil: Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum

  • Best Feature Film in Telugu: Colour Photo

  • Best Feature Film in Haryanvi: Dada Lakhmi

  • Best Feature Film in Dimasa: Samkhor

  • Best Feature Film in Tulu: Jeetige

Non-Feature Films:

  • Best Film on Family Values: Kumkumarchan, Abhijeet Arvind Dalvi

  • Best Direction: Oh That’s Bhanu, RV Ramani

  • Best Music Direction: 1232 kms – Marenge Toh Wahin Jaakar, Vishal Bhardwaj

  • Best Cinematography: Sabdikunna Kalappa, Nikhil S Praveen

  • Best Audiography: Pearl of the Desert, Ajit Singh Rathore

  • Best Editing: Borderlands, Anadi Athaley

  • Best Narration Voiceover: Rhapsody of Rains – Monsoons of Kerala, Shobha Tharoor Srinivasan

  • Best On-Location Sound: Jadui Jangal, Sandeep Bhati, and Pradeep Lekhwar

  • Best Film on Environment Conservation/Preservation

  • Best Book on Cinema: The Longest Kiss by Kishwar Desai

  • Best Book on Cinema (Special Mention): MT Anunahvangalude Pusthakam, Anoop Ramakrishnan, and Kali Paine Kalira Cinema by Surya Deo

  • Best Film Critic: No winner this year.

  • Most Film Friendly State: Madhya Pradesh

Feature Film Awards:

  • Best Hindi Film: Toolsidas Junior

  • Best Malayalam Film: Thinkalazcha Nishchayam

  • Best Telugu Film: Colour Photo

  • Best Bengali Film: Avijatrik

  • Best Assamese Film: Bridge

  • Best Tulu Film: Jeetige

  • Best Tamil Film: Sivaranjaniyum Innum Sila Pengallum

  • Best Marathi Film: Gostha Eka Paithanichi

  • Best Kannada Film: Dollu

  • Best Dimasa Film: Semkhor

  • Best Haryanvi Film: Dada Lakhmi

Other Awards:

  • Madhya Pradesh (Rajat Kamal & Certificate) wins the Most Film Friendly State award while Uttarakhand (Certificate) and Uttar Pradesh (Certificate) get Special Mention.

  • ‘The Longest Kiss’ by Kishwar Desai wins Best Book on Cinema for the year while Malayalam book ‘MT Anunahvangalude Pusthakam’ and Odia book ‘Kali Paine Kalira Cinema’ win special mention.

About the National Film Awards:

The National Film Awards is the most prominent film award ceremony in India. Established in 1954, it has been administered, along with the International Film Festival of India and the Indian Panorama, by the Indian government’s Directorate of Film Festivals since 1973.

  • First awarded: 10 October 1954; 67 years ago

  • Location: Vigyan Bhavan, New Delhi

  • Presented by: Directorate of Film Festivals

bottom of page